The Central Luzon State University

The Central Luzon State University (CLSU), one of the renowned and prestigious state-institutions of higher learning in the country, is the lead agency of the Muñoz Science Community and the seat of the Central Luzon Agriculture, Aquatic and Resources Research and Development Consortium (CLAARRDEC).

It started as a farm school, the Central Luzon Agricultural School (CLAS), on April 12, 1907 wherein the students learned the rudiments of better farming methods, agricultural mechanics and homemaking arts. These activities soon evolved into a model vocational-agricultural teaching and learning program which became its legacy to the country in so far as the CLAS experience was concerned. As a result, CLAS became a byword for productive farming methods.

CLAS was converted into the Central Luzon Agricultural College (CLAC) on December 31, 1950, the first state institution in the country to offer a four-year curriculum for training teachers of vocational agriculture and eventually became known as “the mother of vocational agricultural schools” in the country.

CLAC became the Central Luzon State University on June 18, 1964 by virtue of Republic Act No. 4067. As embodied in its enabling act, the “University shall primarily give professional and technical training in agriculture and mechanic arts besides providing advanced instruction and promoting research in literature, philosophy, the sciences, technology and art”.

To date, CLSU remains as one of the premier institutions of agriculture in Southeast Asia known for its breakthrough researches in aquatic culture (pioneer in the sex reversal of tilapia), ruminant, crops, orchard, and water management, living through its vision of becoming “a world-class National Research University for science and technology in agriculture and allied fields”. Additionally, it is also the first comprehensive state university to undergo institutional accreditation and is declared Cultural Property of the Philippines with the code of PH-03-0027 due to its high historical, cultural, academical, and agricultural importance to the nation.

ISO 9001:2015 Accredited

Designated by the
Commission on Higher Education - National Agriculture and Fisheries Education System (CHED-NAFES)

National University College of Agriculture (NUCA)

National University College of Fisheries (NUCF)

Designated by the
Commission on Higher Education (CHED)

Center of Excellence in Agriculture

Center of Excellence in Agricultural Engineering

Center of Excellence in Biology

Center of Excellence in Fisheries

Center of Excellence in Teacher Education

Center of Excellence in Veterinary Medicine

Designated by the
Philippine Council for Agriculture, Aquaculture, Forestry and Natural Resources Research and Development - Department of Science and Technology (PCAARRD-DOST)

Center of Research Excellence in Small Ruminants

Designated by the
Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR)

Regional Integrated Coastal Resources Management Center

Designated as

Model Agro-Tourism Site for Luzon