op@clsu.edu.ph +6344 456 0688
Central Luzon State University Science City of Muñoz, Nueva Ecija, Philippines 3120
News & Updates


November 23, 2019 - 07:39 pm


Who will be the next CLSU President?

This question will find  answer as  soon as the process for the “Search for the New President” is completed.

Towards this direction, a Presidential Public Forum will be held at the CLSU Auditorium on November 25, 2019 starting at 8:00 o’clock in the morning.

The forum provides the five presidential aspirants vying for the seat as 10th University President the chance to present their vision, mission and goals (VMG) before a big audience composed of CLSU officials, faculty, staff and students and community members; the Search Committee, sectoral representatives, heads of agencies/institutions in the Science City of Muñoz, and other  invited guests.

The candidates and their respective ranks and affiliations are as follows:

Dr. Patrick Alain T. Azanza, President and Faculty of Eclaro Academy and Eclaro Business Solutions, Inc., who holds a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degree in Educational Administration from the University of the Philippines – Diliman;

Dr. Esmeraldo M. Cabana, Dean of CLSU Distance, Open and Transnational University, who earned his PhD in Aquaculture, major in Fish Genetics from Central Luzon State University;

Dr. Maria Agnes P. Ladia, Program Head of Professional Development Services and Chairperson of  Professional Development and Consultancy Services, with a Doctor of Education degree  major in Educational Management from Tarlac State University;

Dr. Edgar A. Orden, Vice President, Business Affairs Program – CLSU,  who holds a PhD in BioProduction Science from Tottori University in Japan; and

Dr. Theody B. Sayco, Dean of CLSU Office of Admissions, who  earned his PhD degree in Agricultural Engineering from Central Luzon State University.

The candidates satisfied  all the requirements  of the rigid search process.

 The Search Committee for presidency is chaired by Dr. Emerlinda R. Roman, former president, UP System and Professor Emeritus,  UP Diliman.

The  members are Dr. Tirso A. Ronquillo, President, Philippine Association of State Universities and Colleges (PASUC) and of  Batangas State University; Ms. Lora I. Yusi, Officer-in-charge, Commission on Higher Education (CHED) Regional Office III; Dr. Emmanuel M. Vera Cruz, Director, CLSU Freshwater Aquaculture Center; and Mr. Renato G. Simbulan, Director, PCCI Chamber and Industry Association and Development.

Mr. Albert A. Añosa, chief of staff, Office of CHED Commissioner Ronald L. Adamat; and Mr. Jaypee S. De Guzman, University and Board Secretary,  serve as  Secretariat.

All the candidates will be given 10 minutes for their presentation which will be followed by an open forum.

Five invited sectoral representatives will be the first to pose questions during the open forum. The first question from each of the sectors  will be answered by all the applicants. Written questions from the audience will also be solicited and screened by the Search Committee.

For the next rounds of question and answer, each  applicant will choose from the pool  of questions.  Selected questions not raised during the  forum may be asked during the panel interview  to be conducted  at the Department of Hotel and Tourism Management of  the CLSU College of Home Science and Industry right after the public forum.  

Dr. Tereso A. Abella, incumbent CLSU President, will deliver the closing remarks. President Abella completes his four year term as the 9th CLSU President on December 18, 2019.


The public forum’s program host is Ms. Marjorie N. Manlulu, while the open-forum moderator is Prof. Jay B. Villafria, Jr. Both are faculty member of the CLSU College of Arts and Sciences.

The CLSU Maestro Singers will lead the National Anthem and Doxology. The CLSU Quartet, on the other hand, will give an intermission number.

The Steering Committee headed by President Abella and the various designated working committees have been working in concert to ensure the successful holding of the presidential public forum.

            According to University and Board Secretary Jaypee de Guzman, the election of the new president is expected to be done by the members of the CLSU Board of Regents next month.