op@clsu.edu.ph +6344 456 0688
Central Luzon State University Science City of Muñoz, Nueva Ecija, Philippines 3120
News & Updates


July 25, 2018 - 07:10 am

JNLucero / PAO

DOST Secretary Fortunato dela Pena (center) with DOST directors, and university presidents after the ceremonial MOU signing

Dr. Tereso A. Abella, president, Central Luzon State University (CLSU), inked a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the Department of Science and Technology - Industrial Technology Development Institute (DOST-ITDI) for the implementation of the Graduate Research Collaboration Program (DOST-ITDI GRCP).

The ceremonial signing was held at the Philippine International Convention Center, Pasay City last July 3 on the occasion of ITDI’s 117th anniversary.

CLSU is one of 15 academic institutions throughout the country which embarked partnership with the DOST regarding the said program.

“The Graduate Research Collaboration Program or GRCP aims to build linkages and competencies for national development by promoting R&D collaboration, technical assistance to students, and publication of research results,” said Dr. Annabelle Briones, deputy director for R&D.

The initiative encourages the graduate students to take advantage of the on-going programs and projects of the lead institution by aligning their research activities to the current multidisciplinary R&D areas of DOST-ITDI on chemicals, energy, environment, biotechnology, food processing, materials science, and packaging which are paramount to Harmonized National R&D Agenda (HNRDA), a development plan prepared by the DOST geared towards the realization of “AmBisyon Natin 2040”.

In his keynote speech, DOST Secretary Fortunato Dela Peña, said the DOST’s collaboration with the academe will further strengthen its efforts in solving problems in the region which can be addressed through science and technology, and in helping all concerned in research areas where there is good opportunity or potential in the regions.

Aside from CLSU, the other academic institutions involved in the DOST-ITDI-GRCP are the following: Xavier University, University of the Philippines - Diliman, Batangas State University, Bulacan State University, Batangas State University, Adamson University, Mindanao State University - Iligan Institute of Technology, Caraga State University, Cagayan State University, Saint Louis University, Philippine Women’s University, and FEATI University, University of Santo Tomas, Mapua University, and De La Salle University.

They will facilitate the assistance provided by the DOST-ITDI to the different regions in the country.